Mike Heiligenstein’s Thoughts on How the Transportation Sector of Williamson County can be improved

Austin City recently hosted a growth summit on transportation challenges. Executives from the Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority (CTRMA), RideScout, Uber Technologies, and ArgoDesign headed the summit. Among the executives were Mike Heiligenstein, CTRMA’s director, Joseph Kopser from RideScout, Leandre Johns from Uber Technologies, and Jared Ficklin from ArgoDesign. The summit took place at the renowned Sheraton Georgetown Texas Hotel & Conference Center. It focused on the role of technology in addressing transportation challenges facing Austin residents.


Speaking at the summit, Mike Heiligenstein noted that innovations such as ridesharing applications and driverless cars could advance the transportation sector. He pointed out that Austin should invest in these technologies to boost the industry. Heiligenstein mentioned that since the mobility demands of Williamson County is regularly growing, transportation authorities should build more roads.


Jared Ficklin also urged the county officials to adopt flexible land-use and building acts. According to him, this initiative represents the work that policymakers can do in addressing present and future transportation challenges. Ficklin also spoke about the need to upgrade parking garages to accommodates the needs of vehicle owners in Williamson County residents. He recommends the garages should be five feet in height. Ficklin also requested the authorities to build parking garages with charging and service stations for autonomous vehicles.


The Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority


CTRMA is a governmental agency that runs independently since 2002. The agency’s mission is to advance the transportation system of Travis and Williamson counties. CTRMA is also focused on implementing multi-modal and innovative transportation solutions. These solutions focus on minimizing traffic congestion while creating more transportation choices for sustainability and economic vitality. CTRMA’s executive board team comprises of seven members.


The governor usually appoints the board chairperson. County commissioners of Travis and Williamson counties appoint the other six members. CTRMA works with private sector contractors in the implementation of transportation projects. The mobility authority’s operations comply with the Texas Transportation Code Chapter 370.

About Mike Heiligenstein


Mike Heiligenstein heads the mobility authority’s professional team as the director. He joined the institution in 2003 after the executive board members elected him. Heiligenstein worked as the county commissioner for Williamson County for 15 years before joining CTRMA. He was also a member of the Round Rock City Council. In 2009, Heiligenstein landed a high-status appointment as the Texas Transportation Institute Advisory Council’s member. As an executive board member, Heiligenstein provides the Tunnel and Turnpike Association, International Bridge, and Envision Central Texas boards with strategic planning advice. He was a former chairperson of the National Association of Counties Air and Water Quality Subcommittees.

Learn more: